Curriculum (EYFS)

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The educational programmes for all pupils in EYFS are based on the DfE’s ‘Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage’.  This document specifies the requirements for learning and development and for safeguarding pupils and promoting their welfare.  

The learning and development requirements cover:

  • the areas of learning and development which must shape educational programmes for pupils in EYFS settings;
  • the early learning goals that staff must help children work towards (the knowledge, skills and understanding pupils should have at the end of the academic year in which they turn five); and
  • assessment arrangements for measuring progress and requirements for reporting to parents. 

Our practice in EYFS is guided by the following principles:

  • every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;
  • children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;
  • children learn well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between staff and parents; and
  • children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

There are three prime areas of learning and development:

  • communication and language;
  • physical development; and
  • personal, social and emotional development.

In addition, the EYFS team supports pupils in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied, these are:

  • literacy;
  • mathematics;
  • understanding the world; and
  • expressive arts and design.
What our parents say
“We liked Sunny Hill’s cross-curricular approach compared to other schools.” BSG new parents' survey